
In the 13th round of the Premier League, Chelsea drew 1-1 with Arsenal at home. During the game, Chelsea midfielder Moises Caicedo was sent off for stamping on Martin Merino, while Arsenal centre-back Piero Hincapie was shown a yellow card after elbowing Trevoh Chalobah in an aerial challenge. After the match, Camel Live invited former Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher to analyze these decisions.
Incident: Caicedo Sent Off for Tackling Merino
Dermot (former referee) said: When you see that tackle, you know it’s bad – it’s a red card. All I can think is that referee Anthony didn’t see the point of contact. The Video Assistant Referee (VAR) did him a huge favor by reminding Anthony to take a look. Anthony glanced at it and showed the red card immediately.
This foul warrants a red card. It’s a reckless challenge, but I don’t think he intended to hurt Merino. I’d describe it more as a reckless or clumsy foul. Anthony Taylor played the advantage. At the time, he didn’t think the challenge deserved a yellow card.
Question: If he didn’t see the challenge, why would he give a yellow card?
Dermot: He saw the foul. In his mind, he could always go back and book him later. If it were a red card, he wouldn’t have played the advantage.
I don’t think he saw the point of contact – that’s the key issue. The game continued, he came back and stopped play for a throw-in, and that’s when VAR said, “You need to come and look at this.”
If I, as a footballer, keep making mistakes, I’ll be dropped sooner or later. Sometimes, (referees) make consecutive wrong decisions and have to face the consequences.
Incident: Arsenal Defender Hincapie Escaped Red Card After Elbowing Chalobah – Given Yellow Card, VAR Upheld the On-Field Decision
Dermot: I think that’s a yellow card. You have to be careful not to just stare at (Chalobah’s) cheek. You have to judge the foul itself.
Hincapie jumped up and used his arm for support – he didn’t swing his elbow or use it as a weapon. It was just an arm movement that caused an unfortunate injury, but it’s a reckless foul, not an intentional attempt to harm the opponent.




